30 Days with the Fuji 35mm f2: Day Five

I’ve done nearly all of my street photography with my Fuji X100S. Its small frame makes it very unassuming and I haven’t felt too weird snapping candid shots of strangers with it as a result. The best street photographers don’t let concerns about being too obvious get in the way of them making good photographs…but I’m not among the best street photographers and I get the willies about the potential for awkward encounters with strangers. 🙂

The X100S is great, but there are times when I’ve wanted something just a bit longer. In the past, that meant lugging around a massive full frame DSLR…and then not using it for fear of being too conspicuous. I’ve already noticed a perceptible change in my street photography shooting habits with the tiny X-T1 and the 35mm f2, though, and I feel much more comfortable wielding it in public places.

I mentioned that I’d be trying this lens out in a variety of scenarios to get a good feel for its versatility, and even this early on I think it’s safe to say that this lens works extremely well for street photography and I’ll be using it much more in that context even after this little project is over. Dual wielding an X100S and an X-T1 with the 35mm f2? Yes please! 🙂

    1. No, I haven’t…I’ve always been worried that getting one would ruin some of the simplicity of the X100 series. Do you use one/what do you think of it?

      Like

Leave a comment